Partnership For A Tobacco Free Maine Logo

Report a Violation

Community members help the fight against tobacco by reporting compliance violations that occur in the workplace and in public places. PTM works with local law enforcement to enforce Maine smoking laws.

What’s the Law?

In Public Places

Maine’s Public Place Smoking Law (22 MRSA § 1541 et seq.) prohibits smoking in public places. When a violation occurs, the smoker and/or the business owner may be fined $100-$1500 for each offense. Each day a person is found smoking in a public place, or an owner does not post or supervise the implementation of a smoke-free policy, is considered a separate offense. Enforcement actions for violations may be brought against any person smoking in a public place, against the owner of a public place, or against a licensee operating a business open to the public.

In the Workplace

Maine’s Workplace Smoking Act (22 MRSA § 1580-A) requires that all indoor workplaces with one or more employees, except private clubs, be smoke free. Indoor workplaces include company-owned or -leased vehicles. When presented with evidence of a violation, the Office of the Attorney General can file complaints seeking fines ranging from $100 to 1,500.

How do I File a Complaint?

Use this online form to file a complaint.

What Happens After I File a Complaint?

Reports of violations may be forwarded to other licensing and certifying agencies for possible administrative action. The Office of the Attorney General investigates all complaints and prioritizes follow-up based on available resources. Whenever possible, other law enforcement agencies are asked to cooperate in investigations, and reports of violations are forwarded to other licensing and certifying agencies for possible administrative action.

While all complaints are considered, some may lack enough evidence to bring forward. Agreeing to come forward as a witness greatly improves the chances of settling a case and achieving compliance.


Back to Top